Bearkats’ Sahaja Yamalapalli Voted Women’s Tennis Player of the Year

first_imgNew Orleans’ Ank Vullings and Trang Dao were named to the second team at the top-line. The Islander duo of Kato and Kageyama and Sam Houston State’s Karla De La Luz Montalvo and Petra Kaszas rounded out the second team. First-Team SinglesNo. 1 Sahaja Yamalapalli, Sam Houston StateNo. 2 Fuka Nonoyama, Central ArkansasNo. 3 Rhea Verma, Northwestern StateNo. 4 Lusine Chobanyan, Sam Houston StateNo. 5 Allison Stewart, Abilene ChristianNo. 6 Illeana Mocciola, Abilene Christian Texas A&M-Corpus Christi sophomore Kei Kato is the Newcomer of the Year. Kato recorded a 6-3 record this Southland season at the No. 2 singles flight and posted a 7-3 mark at second-line doubles alongside partner Myu Kageyama. The duo was named to the all-conference second team, and Kato earns honorable mention honors for her solo efforts. First-Team DoublesNo. 1 Marli Van Heerden/Chunxi Xin, Central ArkansasNo. 2 Mei Ishimura/Yada Vasupongchai, Central ArkansasNo. 3 Emilija Dancetovic/Judit Castillo Gargallo, Northwestern State Sam Houston State and Abilene Christian led the way with two each on the first team. Yamalapalli was joined by teammate Lusine Chobanyan. The Wildcats are represented by Allison Stewart and Illeana Mocciola at the No. 5 and 6 positions, respectively. Central Arkansas’ Fuka Nonoyama and Northwestern State’s Rhea Verma rounded out the top squad at the No. 2 and 3 flights. 2019 All-Southland Conference Women’s Tennis Teams and Individual Awards Leading Abilene Christian to its first Southland title in program history, John Walker was voted the Coach of the Year. The Wildcats finished the year 10-1 in Southland action, marking the program’s first-ever 10-win conference season. His team earned the No. 1 seed in the upcoming Southland tournament. Central Arkansas’ Chunxi Xin, who was a dominant force all season at the No. 1 singles line, is Freshman of the Year. Xin’s 8-3 record earned her a  place on the all-conference second team. A two-time Southland Conference Player of the Week, she took home first-team doubles honors after her and Marli Van Heerden registered an 8-2 record. Six Southland teams are represented on the all-conference teams. Sam Houston State, Central Arkansas and Northwestern State paced the league with four total selections, followed by Texas A&M-Corpus Christi with three. Abilene Christian garnered two first-team singles selections, and New Orleans has one second-team doubles pair. Second-Team DoublesNo. 1 Ank Vullings/Trang Dao, New OrleansNo. 2 Kei Kato/Myu Kageyama, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNo. 3 Karla De La Luz Montalvo/Petra Kaszas, Sam Houston StateHonorable Mention DoublesNo. 1 Jasmin Buchta/Amelie Vossgaetter, LamarNo. 2 Ceci Mercier/Vicky Scholz, Southeastern LouisianaNo. 3 Flory Bierma/Katya Cornejo, Southeastern Louisiana First serve of the 2019 Southland Women’s Tennis Tournament is set for 10 a.m. CT Thursday at the Thomas J. Henry Tennis Center in Corpus Christi, Texas. The championship match has a 2 p.m. start for Saturday. FRISCO, Texas – Sam Houston State’s Sahaja Yamalapalli is the 2019 Southland Conference Women’s Tennis Player of the Year, the league announced Tuesday along with its all-conference teams. All yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition. Yamalapalli went 10-1 in singles and helped the Bearkats to a 7-4 record in conference play en route to clinching the No. 4 seed in the 2019 Southland Women’s Tennis Tournament. She is a first-team selection for singles action and the first Sam Houston State women’s tennis student-athlete to be named Player of the Year in a decade (Irina Sotnikova, 2009). Second-Team SinglesNo. 1 Chunxi Xin, Central ArkansasNo. 2 Isidora Zivkovic, Sam Houston StateNo. 3 Camille Townsend, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNo. 4 Mariya Shumeika, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNo. 5 Ela Iwaniuk, Northwestern StateNo. 6 Judit Castillo Gargallo, Northwestern StateHonorable Mention SinglesNo. 1 Putri Insani, Southeastern LouisianaNo. 2 Kei Kato, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNo. 3 Sanja Jolic, LamarNo. 4 Jordan Henry, Abilene ChristianNo. 5 Yada Vasupongchai, Central ArkansasNo. 6 Maria Maldonado, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi The Islanders and Demons each placed two on the second team, accounting for lines 3-6. A&M-Corpus Christi’s Camille Townsend and Mariya Shumeika were named to the No. 3 and 4 slots, and Northwestern State’s Ela Iwaniuk and Judit Castillo Gargallo took positions 5 and 6. Sam Houston State’s Isidora Zivkovic was the No. 2 flight honoree. Player of the Year: Sahaja Yamalapalli, Sam Houston StateFreshman of the Year: Chunxi Xin, Central ArkansasNewcomer of the Year: Kei Kato, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiCoach of the Year: John Walker, Abilene Christian Central Arkansas had two doubles teams voted to the first team; the pair of Van Heerden and Xin at the top flight and Mei Ishimura and Yada Vasupongchai at the No. 2 slot. They were joined on the first team by Northwestern State’s Emilija Dancetovic and Judit Castillo Gargallo.last_img

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *